Skip to content

Movie Review:The Voyage of The Dawn Treader

December 28, 2010

As a diehard C.S.Lewis fan I am a “purest” when it comes to staying faithful to his original writings. That said I really enjoyed the latest instalment of the Narnia movie franchise The Voyage of the Dawn Treader. Granted it added things (whats with that green mist?), changed the order of the islands and made the sea monster a central character rather than a bit player in the adventure but it got too many of the really important things right to quibble a great deal. Lewis wrote a great book but I have my doubts as to how matching it word for word would have turned out as a screen play. I was at a packed morning showing of the film on Dec 28 made up equally of adults children and seniors and the movie seemed to work for them all. My hopes for this movie are two fold: 1. That people who watch it and have never read the book will discover the genius of Lewis on the printed page and 2. That the movie will be supported by Lewis fans and others financially so the next instalment will make sense to make from a profit perspective for as I understand it, there are no future guarantes of future movies but that they are based on how well Dawn Treader performs at the box office. So by all means get to the movie, encourage others to see it and cry as I did when Aslan urges Lucy to meet Him as He is revealed in the relm of earth.

2 Comments
  1. Alice Robbins permalink

    Thanks for the review!! I will make sure I see it before I leave to return to Poland!

  2. Just went and saw it! What a great movie! Better than “Prince”. The magic came back!

Leave a Reply

