Skip to content

The 17 Essential Qualities of A Team Player

May 5, 2012

The 17 Essential Qualities of a Team Player by John C. Maxwell (2002, Thomas Nelson) is the latest of a large pile of John Maxwell books I have read over the years and just like all the others it followed a proven formula, had overlapping elements and was both helpful and motivational. I commit to read new Maxwell books for no other reason than the great stories, illustrations and quotations that he uses update and refresh my supply and find I inevitably use them in my teaching and preaching. As in many recent Maxwell books there are on-line resources for each chapter to maximize the applicational experience. The focus on “team players” is not an overworked topic and as such I am planning on implementing some of its content into my next semesters class on leading ministry teams. Each chapter begins with a summery statement principle or law supported by a couple of quotations. It immediately moves to a powerful illustrating story followed by a “FLESHING IT OUT”  series of numbed teaching principles. Theses are followed by a “REFLECTING ON IT” group of self-evaluation questions, a “BRINGING IT HOME” listing of application points concluding with a final “DAILY TAKE AWAY” story. The book is a  very manageable 150 pages that I am sure will successfully remind me how to be a better teem player and it just might do the same for you so give it a read!

One Comment
  1. I will have to check this one out. I admire everything that John puts forth and just ordered The Five Levels of Leadership. Heard him yesterday during the Chick-Fil-A Leadercast. Enjoyed your post!

Leave a Reply

