Skip to content

Worth More Than A Cup Of Coffee

June 14, 2017

I admit it…I am a big fan of Max Lucado’s devotional writings but sometimes I find his brilliance work as a  wordsmith most impact fully in smaller “bite sized” selections. That is why I am such a fan  of MOCHA WITH MAX: Friendly Thoughts & Simple Truths by Max Lucado (J. Countryman/Thomas Nelson, 2005). The 190 pages are full of sort devotional segments organized around the 11 chapter themes that include, Joy and Music, Love, Patience and Endurance, Hope, Life, People and faith. The pages are interspersed with Biblical passages framed into art built around a coffee/Java motif. Max uses illusions to literature as in his reference to John Steinbeck’s Sweet Thursday on Page 14, personal stories like his daughter Andres’s learning to ride a bike on page 77 and penetrating questions like “What’s your definition of hope? on page 97. This constant variety keeps the book engaging page after page. And when you have quotations filling pages like the one on page 34 which reads, ” Love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self control. To these I commit my day. If I succeed, I will give thanks. If I fail, I will seek His grace. And then when this day is done I will place my head on my pillow and rest:” you have a feast for the soul. If you have read Max in the past rediscover the impact his words can have to refresh your heart, if you have not read Max give him a try. You and your souls well being will not be sorry.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

